Netflix’s House of Cards has released a July 4th message from the Claire Underwood, the new US president.

The sixth and final season of The Beltway series is expected to come later this year, tweeted a video of Robin Wright as the new President of the United States, in which she wishes “Happy Independence Day…to me.” This is followed by the hashtag #MyTurn:

The end of Season 5 saw Kevin Spacey’s Frank Underwood resign from office, with wife Claire stepping into the role of Commander-In-Chief. Production of the sixth season was then suspended in late October last year, when allegations of sexual misconduct were made against Spacey – shortly after which he was fired from the series.

Returning with an abbreviated eight-episode run, this season of House of Cards sees some major additions to the cast including Diane Lane, Greg Kinnear, and Cody Fern. They join the returning cast members Michael Kelly, Jayne Atkinson, Patricia Clarkson, Constance Zimmer, Derek Cecil, Campbell Scott and Boris McGiver.

Netflix’s Chief Content Officer Ted Sarandos said this season will “bring closure of the show for fans.”

Facebook Comments