Over the last 17 years, the X-Men franchise has expanded, introducing us to many a new mutant – but the 11th instalment in the franchise brings us THE ‘New Mutants’.

The newest film from 20th Century Fox, will focus on five young mutants who have to band together to break their way out of a secret government facility. The ensemble made their first comicbook appearance in 1982’s Marvel Graphic Novel #4, created by Chris Claremont and artist Bob McLeod. Their first solo series ran from 1983 to 1991, and their second, New Mutants, launched in 2003.

Directed by The Fault in Our StarsJosh Boone, this adaptation stars Game of ThronesMaisie Williams as one of the new group of young mutants, barely in control of their powers, who are learning to cope with their new lives as mutants. The trailer introduces us to the group of lesser known mutants – trapped in a facility that slowly becomes a haunted house.

The New Mutants of this ‘80s X-Men spinoff are made up of Magick (Anya Taylor-Joy), Wolfsbane (Maisie Williams), Cannonball (Charlie Heaton), Mirage (Blu Hunt) and Sunspot (Henry Zaga). They’ve been told that they are there to be helped, but the numbered gravestones outside suggest that they are being studied by people who don’t care whether they survive the tests, or even their mutant powers.

Prepare yourselves, as this film will be unlike any X-Men film before is, as Boone himself stated that he wanted to create “a fully-fledged horror movie set within the X-Men universe.”

The New Mutants hits theatres April 13, 2018.

Facebook Comments